Leadership A-Z - NIU - Division of Information Technology

      

   

About Us

IT Leadership A-Z


Carol Albert, University Information Supervisor
Telephone and Security 114
calbert@niu.edu

Responsibilities: NIU directory assistance, campus and community information to NIU and outside callers

 

 

 


Thomas Andrew, Database Administration Support Team Lead
B.S., Computer Science
Wellness and Literacy 2123-08
tandrew@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: PeopleSoft Administration, Oracle Database Administration

 

 

 


Diane Ashley, Administrative Assistant
B.S., Community Health
Wellness and Literacy 2100
ladydi@niu.edu

Responsibilities: Administrative support for CIO, senior directors, managers

 

 

 


Maria Barnes, Lab Coordinator
M.A., English
Swen Parson 130
mnalley1@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: IT-managed labs support, lab access for instructional use

 

 

 


Sally Betz, ERP Application Support Associate Director
M.S., Computer Science
Wellness and Literacy 2218 
sbetz@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: MyNIU Student System, MyNIU Portal, FMS System, Human Resources System, ERP Training

 

 


Nick Choban, Information Services and Operations Senior Director
M.A., Management
Wellness and Literacy 2108
nchoban@niu.edu

Responsibilities: ERP Applications Support; Systems & Infrastructure; Academic, Administrative & Web applications; Information Security; IT Help Desk; and Production Support

 

 


Brett Coryell, Chief Information Officer and Vice President of Information Technology
M.S., Computer Science
Wellness and Literacy 2100 
bcoryell@niu.edu

Responsibilities: NIU student career success through the creative and efficient use of informational technology through managing the central IT group.

 

 


Al Crowley, Desktop Support & Network Field Services Manager
M.S., Management Information Systems
Labs for Wellness 160 
acrowley@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: IT Desktop Support, Network Field Services

 

 

 

 


Jaysen Curran, Outreach Applications Manager
Wellness and Literacy 2212
jcurran@niu.edu

Responsibilities: Conference registrations, campus recreation memberships and services, athletics summer camps registrations, journal paper submissions, motorcycle safety registrations and reporting, and credit and non-credit course scheduling and reporting.

 

 


Ken Erickson, Production Support Manager
M.S., Soil Science
Wellness and Literacy 2205
kerickson@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: Helpdesk, Northern Illinois Monitoring Center, Production Control, Production Support

 

 


Craig Fritz, Portal Support Team Lead
B.S., Computer Science
Wellness and Literacy 2202-22 
cafritz@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: MyNIU portal

 

 

 


Dawn N. Gavin, Helpdesk Supervisor
Wellness and Literacy 2203 
dawngavin@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: Helpdesk, Northern Illinois Monitoring Center 

 

 

 

 


Sylvia Gorman, Systems and Infrastructure Associate Director
Wellness and Literacy 2131
sgorman@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: Storage and server infrastructure, ERP infrastructure architecture, data center

 

 

 


Sabrina Hammond, Communication Services Manager
M.S.Ed, Human Resource Development
Telephone and Security 114 
shammond@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: University Information, Mobility Support, Software Distribution Services, Communication Services

 

 


Earl Hanssen, Student Administration Support Team Lead
Wellness and Literacy 2202-26
ehanssen@niu.edu

Responsibilities: PeopleSoft Student Administration

 

 

 

 


Ruperto Herrera, Academic Application Support Manager
M.S., Management Information Systems
Wellness and Literacy 2202-09
rherrera@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: Blackboard Learn System Administrator, Blackboard Transact System Administrator, Blackboard Mobile Implementation Manager, Blackboard Analytics System Administrator, Helix Media Library System Administrator, Web Analyst / Developer

 

 


John Highland, HR Team Lead
Wellness and Literacy 2202-05
jbh@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: Human Resources

 

 

 

 


Deb Hill, Communication Services Assistant Manager
Telephone and Security 114 
debhill@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: Support Associates, escalated inquiries, SL100/CS2100 switch and related peripherals, work orders

 

 

 


Dan Ihm, Academic, Administrative, and Web Application Services Associate Director
B.S., Computer Science and Mathematics
Wellness and Literacy 2217
dihm@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: Web application development and support, Administrative Applications support, Blackboard (Learn, Transact, and Mobile), Enterprise Document Imaging, Outreach Applications, and Student Affairs support

 

 


John Kearsing, Windows Systems Suppport Manager
M.S., Management Information Systems
Wellness and Literacy 2123
kearsing@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: Windows Server Infrastructure,  IT Lab Infrastructure and Development,  Anywhere Lab Infrastructure, Windows Enterprise Apps Infrastructure 

 

 


Cindy Kozumplik, ERP Training Team Lead
M.S. Ed, Instructional Technology
Wellness and Literacy 2134
ckozumplik@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: MyNIU, Office, OnBase, USI, and Novell Vibe workshops, documentation and testing

 

 


Adam Kuhn, Administrative Applications Manager
M.S., Management Information Systems
Wellness and Literacy 2139
akuhn@niu.edu

Responsibilities: Messaging systems & administrative applications

 

 

 


Herb Kuryliw, Network and Technology Architect
B.S., Computer Science
WL 2133-01
hkuryliw@niu.edu

Responsibilities: High-speed networks for research advancement, administrative resources, academic initiatives and economic development; design of advanced networks in the northern Illinois region

 

 


Jim Meyers, Security Administration Manager
B.A.
Wellness and Literacy 2023 
jdmeyers@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: University-wide information security

 

 

 


Vance Moore, Production Support Lead
B.F.A., Illustration
Wellness and Literacy 2202-40 
vmoore@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: Production Support

 

 

 


Danell Nixon, Program Administrative Assistant
Founders Memorial Library 274
danell@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: Copiers, Anywhere Printing

 

 

 

 


Matthew Parks, Network and Communication Services Senior Director
M.P.A., Finance
Wellness and Literacy 2104
mparks2@niu.edu

Responsibilities: Academic Computing Operations & Support, Broadband Technology - NIUNet, Construction Project Management, Desktop Support, Document Services, Field Services, IT Communication Services, Network Services

 

 


Joe Pourroy, Print Production Coordinator
Human Resources 155
jpourroy@niu.edu

Responsibilities: Process Manager for Front Office and Order Entry

 

 

 

 


Travis Reidl, Bindery Foreman
Human Resources 116
treidl@niu.edu

Responsibilities: Bindery, mailing, shipping, production schedule board, supply of materials

 

 

 

 


Irene Sanderson, Human Resources / Financial Management Systems Team Lead
M.S., Computer Science
Wellness and Literacy 2202-02 
isanderson@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: PeopleSoft Financials, Human Resources

 

 

 


Charles E. Schumann, Jr., Academic Computing Operations and Support Manager
M.B.A.
Swen Parson 130 
schumann@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: IT-managed computer labs, computer classrooms, and smart-classrooms, project and facility management; space design for select IT offices

 

 


Tim Schwartz, Student Affairs Manager
B.S., Information Technology
Wellness and Literacy 2135 
tschwartz@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: Project management and Administration for Student Affairs, NIU Emergency Notification System Administrator

 

 


Betty Shearon, Business Office Manager
B.A., Education
Wellness and Literacy 2121
bshearon@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: IT Business Office

 

 

 


Brian Thompson, Document Services and Copier Services Superintendent
Human Resources 155
bthompson@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: Creative, printing, binding, mailing and copying services

 

 

 

 


Al Tody, Network Engineering Manager
B.S., Finance
Wellness and Literacy 150 
atody@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: Enterprise and Regional Networks

 

 

 


Phil Torgerson, Document Printing and Copier Services Supervisor
Human Resources 159B 
ptorgerson@niu.edu 

Responsibilities:  Pre-press, press and digital print; scheduling, purchasing and print production planning; customer service; Document Services online storefront

 

 

 


Craig D. Williams, Enterprise Document Imaging & Scanning Services Manager
M.B.A.
Wellness and Literacy 2223
cwilliams@niu.edu

Responsibilities: Document imaging, OnBase content management system, scanning and advanced forms processing

 

 


Fred Williams, Infrastructure Support Manager
Wellness and Literacy 2125
fwilliams@niu.edu 

Responsibilities: MS SQL, Vmware, Monitoring, F5, Research Computing